Horoscope and Astrology

a. Horoscopes and Astrology in General

There are multiple definitions of both horoscope and astrology.  In one simplistic view of astrology, it is assumed that life on earth is influenced by the solar system and the alignment of plants at the moment of birth.  Four elements form the basic principles of life and are plotted in a circle divided into 12 slices representing various constellations.  Fire is composed of three signs Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius.  Air has the signs of Libra, Aquarius, and Gemini.   Water is composed of the constellation of Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces.  Earth is the constellation of Capricorn, Taurus, and Virgo.   Some say a fifth element describes the soul or spiritual aspects. 

The horoscope is a picture of the location of the Sun, Moon, and Planets at the time of birth.  It cannot predict what is going to happen.   This becomes overlapped with the four personality types (A, B, C, and D). There is no scientific proof of any relationship between the four personality types and the four horoscope birth signs other than people’s opinions.  Similarly, there is no scientific proof that there was ever a big bang other than people’s opinions.  Therefore, everything must be on the table regarding its validity or invalidity. 

Numerous scientific investigations have been made that indicate a prediction’s outcome is no more reliable than chance.  On the other hand, these studies do not consider the theory of quantum mechanics.  This theory is based on probabilities, i.e., chance.  Hence, science supports that “chance” and “facts” may be directly related.  The concept of quantum entanglement may provide credence for the potential influence of distant planets on the development of life on Earth.

b. General Information on Horoscopes

Many charts, diagrams, and opinions categorize people by the horoscope.  For example, one website opines that people born with the Aries sign are sports enthusiasts and are typically leaders.  Taurus people are close to nature.  Gemini indulges in mind and body issues.  Cancer includes people who enjoy indoor activities but have an unpredictable nature.  Leo covers outgoing people.  Virgo enjoys arts and crafts and considers themselves intellectuals.  Libra are social people and very sensitive.  Scorpio seeks inner happiness but is mysterious.  Sagittarius are nature loving and adventurous and considered the gentle ones.  Capricorns are shy and innovative and are often accused of being deep thinkers.  Aquarius are detailed oriented and view everyone as unique.  Pisces are gentle souls and love water activities.

c. Why are there Twelve Signs ?

The Egyptians had plotted the various stars in the night sky as they traveled across the sky each year and noticed a repeating pattern.  When the yearly night sky was divided into a circle, the stars in each 10-degree segment were known as a Decan.  These Decans were carved as hieroglyphs on the tombs of the Pharaoh Seti.

The Decans were replaced by a lunar division of 27 or 28 days (12 months/year), representing the current zodiac signs.  These constellations were based on scientific observations.

The number 12 has many significant religious and scientific relationships. There are 12 months in a year, 12 numbers on a clock, 12 tribes of Israel, 12 apostles, 12 major Gods of ancient Greece, 12 pearly gates to heaven with 12 angles, etc. 

d. Websites.

There are many websites available to get started in Astrology.  YouTube™ has many entertaining videos on the subject.  Many fortune tellers use Astrology as a means to predict the future.  Others use the science of astronomy to prove various points of view. 

Some astrological organizations include:

America Federation of Astrologers 

Faculty of Astrological Studies

e. People Involved.

In 1985 the Los Angeles Times reported there were 40 million horoscope readers.    The Independent news magazine reported in 2011 that 75% of the population in England read horoscopes.  The Independent also quoted a study that 58% of millennials between 18 and 24 believe astrology is scientific.   

Many believe in the validity of horoscopes—Robert Downy Jr, Britney Spears, Nancy Regan, etc.

f. Link to Daily Horoscope.

Click here to link to an on-line daily Horoscope.